Top 10 similar words or synonyms for masonhill

forehill    0.791666

corsock    0.784700

quernhow    0.774722

drumoyne    0.769662

carbeth    0.768562

marypark    0.767856

edmondstown    0.767125

bennochy    0.766867

aberchirder    0.765842

kincaidston    0.765825

Top 30 analogous words or synonyms for masonhill

Article Example
Ayr (Scottish Parliament constituency) At the 2003 South Ayrshire council election the Conservative Party's support in Ayr was largely concentrated in affluent suburban areas located to the south of Ayr and around Prestwick and Troon, primarily contained within the suburbs of Doonfoot, Seafield, Alloway, Ayr Fort, St Leonard's, north Belmont, Masonhill, Holmston and Castlehill in the town of Ayr; Barassie, Muirhead and south Troon in Troon and in north, west and central Prestwick. The Labour Party have traditionally found success in the more deprived parts of the constituency, winning in council estates such as Kincaidston, Forehill, Marchburn and Prestwick Toll, throughout north Ayr and in west Troon at the 2003 local council election.
Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock (UK Parliament constituency) As defined by the Fifth Review of UK Parliament constituencies, the constituency covers the South Ayrshire electoral wards of Ayr Whitletts; Ayr Lochside; Ayr Newton; Ayr Craigie; Ayr Central; Ayr Fort; Ayr Forehill; Ayr Masonhill; Ayr Belmont; Ayr Old Belmont; Ayr Rozelle; Ayr Doonfoot and Seafield; Coylton and Minishant; North Carrick and Maybole West; North Carrick and Maybole East; South Carrick; Girvan Ailsa and Girvan Glendoune plus the East Ayrshire electoral wards of Patna and Dalrymple; Dalmellington; Drongan, Stair and Rankinston; Ochiltree, Skares, Netherthird and Craigens; New Cumnock; Cumnock East and Cumnock West.
Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley (UK Parliament constituency) Significant boundary change took place as part of the Fourth Periodical Review in time for the 1997 General Election. Large swathes of the Ayr constituency were transferred to the Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley constituency, altering the demographic of both seats. The Conservative-voting suburbs of Alloway, Doonfoot, Castlehill, Masonhill and Holmston were incorporated into Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley alongside the council estates of south Belmont and part of Forehill. The east section of Prestwick which was previously contained within Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley was transferred back to Ayr.
Doonfoot It was not until the first periodic review of Scottish parliamentary boundaries prior to the Scottish Parliament general election, 2011 that Doonfoot and Alloway were transferred back to the Ayr constituency along with Forehill, Masonhill and Kincaidston. This now forms part of the current political boundaries of the Ayr constituency which encompasses the electoral wards of Troon, Prestwick, Ayr North, Ayr East and Ayr West. At the same time, the electoral ward of Kyle was transferred from the former Ayr constituency to Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley.
Ayr In previous elections Ayr was represented in Westminster as part of the Ayr Parliamentary constituency, the boundaries of which included elements of Prestwick, Troon and rural South Ayrshire. The seat was abolished in 2005 to be replaced by the Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock and Central Ayrshire constituencies which were subsequently represented by MP's belonging to Labour, and later, the SNP. From the seat's creation in 1950 until the 1997 general election Ayr was continually represented by MP's from the Conservative Party. George Younger served as Member of Parliament for the constituency for most of this period - serving as MP for Ayr from 1964 to 1992. In 1997 the boundaries of the constituency were altered in a move which saw the Conservative areas of Alloway, Doonfoot and Masonhill alongside parts of Kincaidston and Forehill being transferred to the neighbouring Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley constituency, benefiting the Labour Party.
Ayr (Scottish Parliament constituency) Until the late 2000s the Labour Party held a significant level of support across the Ayr constituency and were able to win the constituency by 25 votes at the 1999 Scottish Parliamentary election as a consequence of a high turnout and the constituency's boundaries, which excluded various Conservative-voting suburbs in southern Ayr (including Alloway, Doonfoot, Masonhill, Holmston and Castlehill). Labour's decline in support in the Scottish Parliament coupled with a lower turnout allowed for the Conservatives to secure the constituency comfortably at the 2000 Ayr by-election following the resignation of Ayr's first MSP, Ian Welsh. The by-election was the first by-election of the Scottish Parliament, making Ayr the first Scottish Conservative constituency seat in the Scottish Parliament (who won no constituency seats at the 1999 Scottish Parliament election). The Conservatives went onto hold the constituency at the 2003 and 2007 Scottish Parliament elections, despite marginally missing out in the Westminster seat of Ayr to the Labour Party at the 2001 UK general election. In 2011 the constituency boundaries were altered, with the electoral ward of Kyle being transferred to the Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley constituency. At the same time the remaining portion of the town of Ayr covered by the Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley constituency was transferred over to the Ayr constituency. The Ayr constituency went onto return Conservative MSP John Scott to Parliament with a reduced majority at the 2011 and 2016 Scottish Parliament elections.